1. Bang!Zoom
  2. Remembrance
  3. Selim
  4. Freedom is a Voice
  5. Friends
  6. Heaven's Design
  7. My Better Half
  8. Kid's Toys
  9. Mere Words


Blue Note, 1996

Recorded in 1995, Bang!Zoom features Bobby in a number of different collaborations including the members of jazz fusion group The Yellow Jackets.

Billboard Magazine: "Bobby McFerrin outdoes himself with this collaboration with the Yellowjackets. These tunes showcase the fluid melodicism of the contemporary jazz outfit and McFerrin's incomparable vocal improvisations."

The San Francisco Chronicle writes: "Only an artist with Bobby McFerrin's extraordinary vocal gifts and imagination could pull off a pastiche like this pleasing concoction. He overdubbed his voice to create a shifting web of harmonies, counterparts, and choirs. He sings joyous, wordless, African-based songs - filled with dancing melodies and shimmering textures"

Guest performers include:

  • Bob Mintzer, sax & bass clarinet
  • Paul Jackson, Jr., guitar
  • Paulinho Da Costa, percussion
  • Russel Ferrante, piano and synth
  • Jimmy Haslip, bass
  • William Kennedy, drums
  • Scott Wendholt, trumpet
  • Paul Nagel, fender rhodes
  • Tower of Power Horn Section